illuminating.

contest closed, winners will be announced soon.

DSC_0496when i start making a batch of nail polish, it generally looks like this.  a whole lot of sparkly goop, in a cup.  it’s a mixture of mica, oil (in this case, almond oil), and in some cases, other things get added at this point as well.  for this set, i’ve added a small bit of glow powder, in a light green.  you might be able to see some on the stir stick.

DSC_0497

the goop gets put into each bottle, and then glitter gets sifted in.  then the base gets added, and everything bets shaken up for a few seconds, creating the final mixture.  sometimes, at this point, i decide i just don’t like what things look like.  it’s not that a certain creation looks bad, it’s just that i am hyper picky.

DSC_0504    DSC_0499DSC_0498  once the final colour is selected, i take photos and post them all over, so people can get excited about what’s coming.  the photos can be a finicky thing, since i don’t have much light in the studio.  i don’t own an actual camera, or a light box, so my phone and the kitchen cabinet must make due.

with this particular colour, i had an even more interesting conundrum: how to take photos of something in the dark.  i think i did okay, but there’s likely still work to be done.

DSC_0506 DSC_0505DSC_0503DSC_0502

today, i spent some time working with thermochromatic powder.  it’s still a work in progress though, so that will have to wait.

okay, so what else can i say to get you interested in what i do?  haha, terrible segue, eh?  too bad, i’m running with it.

i’ve got another little giveaway for you.

remember these cuties?

DSC_0325 DSC_0324

well, i have a few left from pax.

want to win one?

  1.  you must leave a valid comment below, telling me about your favourite video game moment.  this counts as your gateway entry.  if there is no comment about this, below, no other entry counts.
  2. extra entries can be gained by sharing this contest on social media.  please make sure i see your share!
  3. there are 6 of these minis left, so get to entering!

contest will be open until 6pm pacific time, friday sept 25.  international entries are welcome on this one, but keep in mind that any customs fees are the sole responsibility of the winner.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Sep 21, 2015 @ 21:14:26

    Hmmm, favorite video game moment… lets see. I think it may have been the first time I managed to navigate my way through Vivec in Morrowind without getting lost….

    Like

    Reply

  2. carla
    Sep 22, 2015 @ 00:22:35

    Hmm. My fave video game moment was probably the other day when I was watching my 4 year old play minecraft and he turned into a mouse m he screamed that it was “totally epic! ” he’s too cute!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Melaina
    Sep 22, 2015 @ 00:30:56

    When I got married (a million years ago) we got a N64 (and extra games & controllers!) as a wedding gift. We settled all our arguments racing it out on Rainbow Road in MarioKart. We still settle almost all our disagreements on the MarioKart track. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  4. Victoria
    Sep 22, 2015 @ 01:51:56

    My favorite video game moment was when I first started up WoW after coming out. I found a guild that I love as they have welcomed and accepted me. It felt amazing to be welcomed by others.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Leslie S
    Sep 22, 2015 @ 02:32:15

    My favorite video game at the moment is Super Mario Bros 3. Yeah, it’s old, but so am I! hahahaha We still have a Super Nintendo, but only one controller works.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Mathilda
    Sep 22, 2015 @ 05:22:17

    My favorite gaming moment is also my most terrifying gaming experience! If you have ever played Spore you know you really shouldn’t go back to the water after you evolved… Well, I didn’t know that and was just going to take a shortcut through the water when this thing fills up my screen and eats me 😦 http://creeperaptor40.deviantart.com/art/Spore-sea-monster-287294612 I’m one of those people that almost shoves my face into the screen and this was a jumpscare for sure!

    Like

    Reply

  7. Raluca Denise
    Sep 22, 2015 @ 13:11:54

    I loved playing Soul River with my brother. It was so intense and fun. I miss those times.

    Like

    Reply

  8. cookie3
    Sep 22, 2015 @ 19:31:15

    My favorite video game at the moment- hmm that’s pretty tough I don’t normally play any games- I’d rather paint my nails,lol. But I do like Tetris once in a while.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Rachel Beltz
    Sep 23, 2015 @ 03:29:15

    My favorite moment has to be the nostalgic choosing of a starter Pokemon.. it never gets old for me. Even in Omega Ruby I was brought back to my first starter Pokemon in the original Ruby!

    Like

    Reply

  10. Rachel Beltz
    Sep 23, 2015 @ 03:36:57

    My shares 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  11. secondndsebring
    Sep 23, 2015 @ 04:01:18

    my favorite video game moment would have to be whenever i was really young and first introduced into the wonderful world of Mario!

    Like

    Reply

  12. Brea
    Sep 23, 2015 @ 18:16:21

    My favorite video game? It would have to be old school… Super Mario Brothers anything. I’m not much of a gamer tho!

    Like

    Reply

  13. Tina
    Sep 24, 2015 @ 11:04:12

    It was when I finshed Disney’s Tarzan game on ps
    Shared: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/403705554076089576/
    gabrielle(dot)sollis(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

